Loading Events

« All Events

Assessing the Scope of Missing Native Americans in Nebraska: Results from a State-Wide Study and Recommendations

January 31 @ 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

National Indian Country Training Initiative Announcement 

The problem of missing persons has gained significant attention, and recent legislation in multiple states has called for studies on the scope of missing Native Americans. This webinar will describe the methodological and practical issues for researchers to consider when examining data on missing persons, and present the issues that make reporting and investigating missing Native persons particularly challenging. Using data from four point-in-time-counts of missing persons in Nebraska in 2020, the presenters will report the prevalence and context of Nebraska’s missing persons and missing Native persons, and describe stability and change across demographic groups over time. The presenters also collected qualitative data from victim service providers regarding ways to support families and loved ones of missing persons.

Results indicate that missing persons cases are dynamic and most cases are resolved quickly. Further, the rate of missing persons and the rank order positions of demographic groups is relatively stable over time. Reported missing persons are disproportionately African American and Native American and are most likely to be minor boys. None of the missing Native cases were associated with a criminal investigation, and more Native missing persons cases were resolved than missing persons cases from other racial groups. Further, there was very little overlap between the state clearinghouse and the national missing persons lists. The presenters will provide specific directions for data collection, legislative priorities, and researcher-practitioner partnerships regarding the study of missing persons generally and missing Native Americans specifically. They will also address the potential role of missing persons advocacy in supporting families and communities.  There is no cost for attending this webinar.

This media and materials are for Department of Justice use and subject to protection from release under the Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. section 552.

The Executive Office for United States Attorneys (EOUSA) will provide reasonable accommodations to people with disabilities. Requests should be made to the course POC as early as possible, preferably at least three weeks in advance of the training. No nominee will be excluded from a course on the basis of a disability-related accommodations request.

                         

  Training Date January 31, 2022
  Training Times (EST) 3:00 – 4:30 p.m. EST
  Training Times (CST) 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm CST
  Training Times (MST) 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm MST
  Training Times (PST) 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm PST

 

Non-DOJ Registration Deadline: Wednesday, January 26, 2022

REGISTER

Details

Date:
January 31
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Event Categories:
,